Congratulations to our unsung heroes - Terri Butler MP, Labor for Griffith

Congratulations to our unsung heroes

Terri Butler MP congratulates the Southside’s unsung heroes who were acknowledged at the 19th Griffith Australia Day Awards.

“Nearly 300 people attended the 19th annual Griffith Australia Day Awards, to honour a wonderful group of volunteers – our local unsung heroes,” Ms Butler said.

“I thank my committee, led by Mr Matthew Campbell, and of course the recipients themselves, for their tireless efforts and participation in the ceremony. I also thank Corrine McMillan MP for giving up her time to MC the ceremony.”

“I was privileged to be able to celebrate the achievements of more than 40 local people who have shown initiative, made achievements, inspired others and shown dedication and reliability, across many different activities.”

“Between them they have dedicated decades of service to the Southside, and we are lucky to have them living and working our community”

The individual recipients were:

  • Marilyn Boyce
  • Jean Burke
  • Karen Czornohalan
  • Tokiko Dawson
  • John Debenham
  • Peter Forday
  • Jim Gable
  • Ross Hall
  • Ross Hielscher
  • Dr Vladis Kosse
  • Dr Paul Massarotto
  • Allan Mitchell
  • Randall New
  • Chi Pham
  • Billie Pelling
  • Glenys Pollock
  • Donald Richards
  • Beverly Strous
  • Marj Warry
  • David Woodcock

The community groups that were recognised were:

  • Environmental Defenders Office
    • Andrew Dunn, Ernestine Kirsch, Julian Ladd, Jemma Lanyon, Anna Simpson
  • Circles of Life QLD
    • Carol MacArthur, Janet Godwin, Imogen Johnson, Jill Wootton, Jemma MacArthur
  • Dauphin Tce Bushcare Group
    • Sarah Lejeune, David McDonald
  • Friends of Balmoral Cemetery
    • Jenny Clark, Julie Gustafson, Antony Rogers, Lorraine Russell
  • St Clement Melkite Catholic Church
    • Mrs Yolla Chibly, Reverend Father Elie Francis
  • World Wellness Group
    • Health staff and practitioners

And we were excited to induct into the GADA Hall of Fame:

  • Bulimba District Historical Society
    • Rai Laaja, Norman Love, Patricia Mullins, Brenda Nolan, John Rathbone, Robert Turner, Russell Turner, Judith Salter, Diane Sinden

Monday, 29 JANUARY 2018

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.

Volunteer Get updates Donate


get updates